Augustus A. White III, MD, PhD

CSRS 2023 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient eleifend

Augustus A. White III, MD, PhD

The Cervical Spine Research Society proudly awards Augustus White, MD, PhD, as the 2023 recipient of the CSRS Lifetime Achievement Award. Dr. White is awarded this honor, not only for personal accomplishments, but also for accomplishments that advanced the field of cervical spine surgery. His remarkable leadership is unparalleled, and we thank him for his dedication and service to CSRS, including his term as CSRS President in 1988. From a young age, Dr. White opened doors for people of color in the medical field as well as the field of research and education. Dr. White’s career includes many firsts for the black community, including being the first black medical student at Stanford, the first black surgical resident at Yale, and the first black medical professor at Yale. Although Dr. White continues to be a decorated author and philanthropist. His legacy is ongoing, as seen through the Augustus A. White III Institute, which is dedicated to raising national awareness for healthcare equity. Dr. White has made amazing contributions and strides in the field of cervical spine research and surgery for our entire community. His example has been an inspiration to not only CSRS members, but also the field of medicine and beyond. We recognize his long and prosperous career in cervical spine surgery as a researcher, humanitarian, educator, innovator, leader, and philanthropist.

2022 - Paul A. Anderson

2021 - Ronald Apfelbaum

2020 - Frank Eismont

About the Cervical Spine Research Society Lifetime Achievement Award

The Board of Directors of the Cervical Spine Research Society (CSRS) established the Lifetime Achievement Award in 2019 to recognize those who have achieved academic excellence and made significant contributions to study of diseases of the cervical spine, as well as to recognize the accomplishments of the distinguished persons who have created a lasting legacy in this field.

Award Criteria

  1. The candidate must be living.
  2. The candidate must be a senior member of CSRS and/or over the age of 65. 
  3. The candidate’s outstanding and lasting contributions are pioneering and/or creative, with legacy value.
  4. The candidate must be a highly-esteemed individual with a significant national and international reputation as a thought leader, educator, and mentor in the field, and possess exceptional professional and personal qualities.

Additional Award Information